help > Different correlation matrices generated from the same data.
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts
Display:
Results per page:
Aug 1, 2024  03:08 PM | Chihhao Lien
Different correlation matrices generated from the same data.

Dear experts,

It's my first time doing longitudinal analysis with CONN.

According to previous replies to the setting for longitudinal studies, there are 2 approaches.

1:  Enter the different sessions as if they were different subjects (https://www.nitrc.org/forum/forum.php?th...)

2: Enter 2 as the "number of sessions" per subject (https://www.nitrc.org/forum/message.php?... https://www.nitrc.org/forum/message.php?...)

I thought that CONN would generate the same ROI-to-ROI matrices with both approaches since I extracted these matrices from the result of 1st level analysis. However, I got different correlation matrices (Fisher's Z values, extracted from "resultsROI_Subject00*_Condition00*.mat") for my follow-up data.

I tested 4 different settings:

(1) Import HC and patient data at baseline, each subject has 1 session

(2) Import baseline and follow-up data (patients only) as different subjects (e.g. import baseline data as Subject 1-10, and then import follow-up data as Subject 11-20)

(3) Import baseline and follow-up data (patients only) as 2 sessions for 1 subject. Each subject has 2 sessions: baseline and follow-up

(4) Import follow-up data only, each subject has 1 session. 

While comparing the Z matrices for baseline data, (1), (2), and (3) generated the same matrices. However, while focusing on follow-up data, (3) generated different correlation matrices, compared with (2) and (4). 

I plan to extract ROI-to-ROI matrices for other analyses (e.g. graph theory), but I', confused about which setting I should use for my longitudinal data. Does anyone know which one is the better approach?

Best regards,

Chih-Hao

Aug 6, 2024  10:08 PM | Alfonso Nieto-Castanon - Boston University
RE: Different correlation matrices generated from the same data.